Coming Down The Home Stretch

I’ll be leaving fairly shortly to begin walking for the day but wanted to try and post a little something because I’ve been kind of slow to put up new posts (I need to do some catching up in the journal I’ve been keeping as well). I can’t believe this journey is almost over. It will be nice to get to Philly and see everyone and know that I accomplished what I set out to do, not to mention give my body some time to rest, but it will be strange to be done. I’ll be  moving down to St. Louis this Sunday so I really wont have much/any time to  sit and relax and reflect on everything, at least not for a little while.

Any way, I’ll be leaving Collegeville, where I stayed with another wonderful family that is friends with my awesome cousins Stef and Phil. It’s a beautiful old home and Rick and Debbie and I had a really good conversation over a fantastic dinner. I’ll make my way down the Perkiomen Trail and then get on the Schuykill River Trail, which I will then pretty much take the rest of the way.

Just a reminder, I will be ending the walk at 2:ooPM at the Women of Change Shelter at 2042 Arch Street in Philly Tomorrow. If you’re in the area and would be interested in seeing the end I would love to see you down there. I don’t know exactly what Philabundance and Project H.O.M.E. have planned but the news should be there, so it should be pretty neat.

Thanks again for your continued support. I’ve really appreciated all the posts and well wishes. They have definitely helped me and given me inspiration to keep going.

Adam

About adambrok

My name is Adam Brok. I am a recent graduate of DePauw University, a small liberal arts school in Greencastle, IN, where I was a Philosophy major and Jewish Studies minor. I am also a proud Pittsburgher. I come from a family and environment where helping people in need was just what you did. If you came across a friend, neighbor, or even a complete stranger that was in need of help, you stopped and did what you could to help. It was just as simple as that. As I grew and moved on to college I continued to help where I could. I volunteered as a student friend at a local elementary school where I served as a mentor and tutor to a kindergartner named Jordan and worked with a local church to help run their non-food pantry (where we supplied members of the community on food stamps with essentials like soap, toothpaste, detergent, etc, that cannot be purchased with food stamps). During the summers after my sophomore and junior years respectfully, I volunteered at the University of Pittsburgh Legal Clinic and The Pittsburgh Refugee and Immigration Assistance Center. I also was fortunate to have had the opportunity to spend the spring semester of my junior year in Philadelphia where I was a social work/legal intern in the Juvenile Special Defense Unit of the Defender Association of Philadelphia. It was during this semester in Philadelphia that I became really passionate about the issues of hunger and homelessness. It was impossible to walk around downtown Philly for more than ten minutes without seeing someone laying on the sidewalk or sitting in dirty clothes on a park bench asking for food and money. It was a scene I just couldn't get comfortable with seeing. Here I was a young college student without much money of my own, yet I had an apartment I slept in each night and food to wake up to each morning. Why should I be so fortunate and not the guy that slept on the sewer grate every night down the block from my bare, but warm apartment. That is when I decided that I needed to something, something much more and much greater than what I had done in the past. Being an avid exerciser and enjoying taking on physical challenges, I decided that I would walk from Pittsburgh to Philadelphia to raise money and awareness for the hungry and homeless.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Coming Down The Home Stretch

  1. We are behind you 100% Adam thank you so much for your support through your walk!! Good Luck almost there!

  2. Bill says:

    Adam, I met you at a dinner outside of Saltsburg on one of the first days of your walk and I confess that I thought the schedule for your walk was totally unreasonable. I stand corrected. You should be commended for your dedication.

  3. Maura says:

    Thank you so much, Adam. You are truely an inspiration to everyone you meet. You have made an incredible impact on our community, and I can’t thank you enough for everything you have done. Keep doing what you’re doing!

    • adambrok says:

      Thank you Maura. You were there for me every step of the way and really made things happen. It was great working with you and I appreciate all of the work you put in to help make this possible. You definitely deserve a lot of credit for what you did. It was also really nice to have you come all the way out to Altoona just walk a little. That was really cool. Thanks and good luck with the new school year.

  4. John K. Roth says:

    Dear Adam: I read about you and your project on the DePauw web site this morning (August 26). Congratulations on all that you are doing. Take good care, JKR

  5. Duane Skoog says:

    Adam,
    I am very proud to have had you working in the scene shop during your 4 years here at DePauw. Well, done!!

    gds

    • adambrok says:

      Duane,

      It’s great to hear from you and I really appreciate the support and kind words. It was an honor and great joy to have been able to work in the shop with. I only hope that my next boss is half is great a boss and person as you are. Thanks again for everything and have a great school year.

  6. Phil Heyde says:

    Adam, I have been following your walk, your blog and the comments. I also contributed to your effort. We all know and appreciate what an exceptional young man you are. Your values, character, especially your selflessness, are extraordinary. You are one of the best!

    Phil

    P!

  7. Eric Wolfe says:

    Well done, Adam! You are doing some amazing things! We miss you back at Fiji. Hope to catch up with you soon.

    Eric
    Pergé!

Leave a Reply

