Current Mission: Finding Donors Places to Stay

I am really pleased with how things are coming together. Mara and the Food Bank have really given me a lot of hope and confidence as things move forward and I begin contacting different groups,  businesses, individuals to donate. I will be speaking about the walk at different places in the upcoming weeks (Rodef Shalom, the Silver Sneakers group at my local YMCA, and hopefully other places too), which is why I really need to create a flyer, so I can give people something physical with all of the information they need about the walk that they can hold in their hands.

But the bigger challenge I am dealing with right now is finding places to stay along the way. I think I’ll be able to stay with family friends in Murrysville the first night. I will definitely be able to stay with family in Reading on the 20th and 21st, and they might be able to find me a place to stay on the 19th in Robesonia and on the 23th in Collegeville. And hopefully I’ll have a place to stay when I arrive in Philly. Other than that though I haven’t been able to secure any places to stay. That means I am still looking for places in Saltsburg (Aug 2nd), Black Lick (3rd) , Vintondale (4th), Cresson (5th), Holidaysburg(6th and 7th), Williamsburg (8th), Huntingdon (9th), Mt. Union/McConnelstown (10th), Tuscarora State Park (11th), Mifflintown (12th), Millerstown (13th and 14th), Duncannon (15th), Harrisburg (16th), Royalton (17th), Mt. Gretna (18th), and Conshohocken (24th).

I’ve spoken with a woman (Barb Stramaski) in Saltsburg who said she’ll check around. I have also contacted  Pathway Shelter Home in Black Lick but they can’t guarantee me a bed. They suggested I contact Grace United Methodist Church. I left the pastor a message but haven’t heard back yet. I contacted Temple Beth Israel in Altoona/Holidaysburg today and the receptionist Jennifer said she would speak with the president to see if she knows of anyone willing to put me up.

So, if anyone knows anyone in any of these towns please let me know. I am just looking for a place to sleep and a little bit of food. I would not be much of a hassle at all I assure you. I’d arrive sometime in the evening (~7ish) and leave by 7 am. Please, PLEASE let me know if you can think of any places I might be able to stay in these towns.

Thanks,

Adam

About adambrok

My name is Adam Brok. I am a recent graduate of DePauw University, a small liberal arts school in Greencastle, IN, where I was a Philosophy major and Jewish Studies minor. I am also a proud Pittsburgher. I come from a family and environment where helping people in need was just what you did. If you came across a friend, neighbor, or even a complete stranger that was in need of help, you stopped and did what you could to help. It was just as simple as that. As I grew and moved on to college I continued to help where I could. I volunteered as a student friend at a local elementary school where I served as a mentor and tutor to a kindergartner named Jordan and worked with a local church to help run their non-food pantry (where we supplied members of the community on food stamps with essentials like soap, toothpaste, detergent, etc, that cannot be purchased with food stamps). During the summers after my sophomore and junior years respectfully, I volunteered at the University of Pittsburgh Legal Clinic and The Pittsburgh Refugee and Immigration Assistance Center. I also was fortunate to have had the opportunity to spend the spring semester of my junior year in Philadelphia where I was a social work/legal intern in the Juvenile Special Defense Unit of the Defender Association of Philadelphia. It was during this semester in Philadelphia that I became really passionate about the issues of hunger and homelessness. It was impossible to walk around downtown Philly for more than ten minutes without seeing someone laying on the sidewalk or sitting in dirty clothes on a park bench asking for food and money. It was a scene I just couldn't get comfortable with seeing. Here I was a young college student without much money of my own, yet I had an apartment I slept in each night and food to wake up to each morning. Why should I be so fortunate and not the guy that slept on the sewer grate every night down the block from my bare, but warm apartment. That is when I decided that I needed to something, something much more and much greater than what I had done in the past. Being an avid exerciser and enjoying taking on physical challenges, I decided that I would walk from Pittsburgh to Philadelphia to raise money and awareness for the hungry and homeless.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Current Mission: Finding Donors Places to Stay

  1. Mike Kauffelt says:

    Adam,
    How can I contribute? Where do I send funds? Thanks Mike.

    • adambrok says:

      Mike,

      The simplest way to contribute would probably be by going to pittsburghfoodbank.org. On their main/home page will be different events (Pittsburgh Blues Festival, Monroeville Jazz Festival, etc.) and that is where you should see a link/heading for my walk. It’s not up yet so I don’t know what the exact heading will be but the people I’m working with at the food bank said it should be up by Monday and it will probably be called something like “Adam’s Walk”. If you have trouble finding it just let me know. After clicking on that link the process is pretty straight forward; just click the “Donate” button and select which organization(s) you want to give to (Greater Pittsburgh Community Food Bank, Central PA Food Bank, Philadelphia Food Bank, or Project H.O.M.E.) and how much you want to donate.

      You could also just send the food bank a check and put my name in the memo section you’d prefer. I can give more information if you need it.

      Thank you so much for your interest and contribution. I really appreciate it.

      Adam

    • adambrok says:

      Mike,

      The my webpage on the Pittsburgh Food Bank’s website is now up and running. To get to it click on the “Calendar of Events” heading/link on their main/home page. My event, “Adam’s Walk for Hunger is the third event down, right below the Pittsburg Blues Festival. Thanks again.

  2. Mike Kauffelt says:

    Adam,
    Made contribution to Pgh. Food Bank through their website link to your walk. Hopefully you get the proper credit, but your walk should certainly be credit enough. Good luck on the journey and be safe. Mike Kauffelt

Leave a Reply

