Lot’s of Exciting Stuff to Share

I must apologize for the long break between posts. A lot of good stuff has happened since last I posted. Time to catch everyone up.

The first bit of awesome news is that I have secured a backpack. Stephen Moyer, a professional photographer from right outside of Harrisburg (moyerphoto.com) was extremely generous and donated a nice big hiking backpack to me for the walk. It’s suppose to arrive sometime between 7/28 and 8/4, which obviously could be problematic since I leave 8/1, but what are you going do. Hopefully it arrives before Sunday but if it doesn’t…well hopefully it arrives before Sunday. Thank you so much Stephen.

Second bit of exciting news is that Little’s Shoes in Squirrel Hill (littlesshoes.com) came through with a donation of a pair of shoes for me walk. They are a very nice pair of New Balance athletic shoes. I was really looking and hoping for more of a sturdy pair of waterproof hiking type shoes but as the saying goes, beggars can’t be choosers and if it rains I can always just put plastic bags over my shoes. Thank you Little’s, you’re awesome. I would encourage everyone (at least in the Pittsburgh area) to keep them in mind when purchasing your next pair of shoes. They’re a long established small, locally owned store that really cares and will treat you right.

I think I am still going to see if I can find some store that would be willing to donate, or at least provide a discount for a pair of waterproof hiking shoes. Someone recommended I check out REI in the South Side and I think they might be willing to work with me. I got there shortly before they were closing but the guy I spoke with (I believe his name was Joe) told me to come back when he works again Tuesday and he’ll try to help me out, and even offered to provide me with a pair of hiking socks when I come back (I tried on a pair and they felt incredible).

Third piece of coolness is that I will be going downtown to the City Council Building Tuesday morning to receive a “proclamation” from City Councilman Doug Shields. To be honest I am not 100% sure what exactly a proclamation is/means, but basically it seems like a public acknowledgment of, and pat on the back for doing this walk. Whatever it is it’s awesome and I’m extremely honored and excited about receiving it. I’ll also get the chance to say a little something about my walk, which is great because the proceedings will be broadcast on the Pittsburgh news channel and I think the internet too but I’m not sure (I’ll try to find out if it is and post the link if it will be).

4th, American Eagle stepped up an got involved even more. They are going to post my walk on their facebook page, which has over 1.4 MILLION fans, no big deal. Thank you AE. You continue to impress me.

And finally, Maura Rodgers at the Greater Pittsburgh Community Food Bank got me (and my dad) into the Pittsburgh Blues Festival this weekend (which she planned and organized – great job Maura the festival was awesome) and allowed me to pass out flyers and talk to be people about my walk. After a couple hours of standing by the merchandise (well really only like two hours) I had managed to pass out exactly 2 of the 101 I brought. I think if I had taken a little bit more of an aggressive approach I might have been more successful, but it was really hot and most people were over by the stage listening to the music, and I’m not that bold a person in the first place so I just ended up leaving some of my flyers in a tent with exhibits and information on conservation and sustainability. Hopefully a few more people grabbed a copy. I did speak with a number of people about it and they did announce me and my walk on the main stage (which was really cool), so at least I got the word out there to a couple people in some way. In general though it was a really cool experience. Thank you so much Maura, my dad and I had a great time.

I think that’s all the exciting news I had to share and if it isn’t, well, this post is already long enough so I’ll include whatever I left out in a future post.

Thanks,

Adam

About adambrok

My name is Adam Brok. I am a recent graduate of DePauw University, a small liberal arts school in Greencastle, IN, where I was a Philosophy major and Jewish Studies minor. I am also a proud Pittsburgher. I come from a family and environment where helping people in need was just what you did. If you came across a friend, neighbor, or even a complete stranger that was in need of help, you stopped and did what you could to help. It was just as simple as that. As I grew and moved on to college I continued to help where I could. I volunteered as a student friend at a local elementary school where I served as a mentor and tutor to a kindergartner named Jordan and worked with a local church to help run their non-food pantry (where we supplied members of the community on food stamps with essentials like soap, toothpaste, detergent, etc, that cannot be purchased with food stamps). During the summers after my sophomore and junior years respectfully, I volunteered at the University of Pittsburgh Legal Clinic and The Pittsburgh Refugee and Immigration Assistance Center. I also was fortunate to have had the opportunity to spend the spring semester of my junior year in Philadelphia where I was a social work/legal intern in the Juvenile Special Defense Unit of the Defender Association of Philadelphia. It was during this semester in Philadelphia that I became really passionate about the issues of hunger and homelessness. It was impossible to walk around downtown Philly for more than ten minutes without seeing someone laying on the sidewalk or sitting in dirty clothes on a park bench asking for food and money. It was a scene I just couldn't get comfortable with seeing. Here I was a young college student without much money of my own, yet I had an apartment I slept in each night and food to wake up to each morning. Why should I be so fortunate and not the guy that slept on the sewer grate every night down the block from my bare, but warm apartment. That is when I decided that I needed to something, something much more and much greater than what I had done in the past. Being an avid exerciser and enjoying taking on physical challenges, I decided that I would walk from Pittsburgh to Philadelphia to raise money and awareness for the hungry and homeless.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

