The Time Draws Near

With my walk beginning directly on the other side of tomorrow things, for the most part have really come together. I’m only missing lodging for 3 nights; Nanty-Glo (I’ve decided to walk an extra 5-6 miles past Vintondale to Nanty-Glo because Vintondale is just too small and it has been really difficult to find a place to stay there), Williamsburg, and Tuscarora State Forest. The good news is I am pursuing some very good possibilities in all three places. I’m sure something will work out. If not, well…we’ll cross that bridge when we come to it. If I have to be homeless for a night or two it wont be so bad, especially if the whether is nice and the stars are out. In fact that would be quite wonderful. Besides, there are people that go homeless for years and have to stay out in the cold during the winter, so I think I can handle a couple of summer nights. It will be a good experience.

I forgot to mention this yesterday (in my defense I forgot to mention to my dad when he got home from work too), but KDKA radio called and asked if I could do an interview this morning at 7:40am with Larry Richert and John Shumway. I think it went pretty well. They were really nice and let me speak a lot about what I’m doing and why. A number of people I know said they heard me this morning so that was good. They have a link to my blog on their website, which is awesome. I’ll post the link just because it’s cool but if you’re reading this it’s because you’ve already found my blog (http://kdka.com/video/?id=74668@kdka.dayport.com).

On a similar note, WPXI finally posted my story on their website. It has a video clip of my interview and a little article about the walk. It’s very cool, except for the part where they spell my last name wrong in the article, though they spelled it right in the video clip (it’s spelled Brok, not Brock), but no worries. They did refer to me as a “man” (“Penn Hills Man…”), which as a young person is really cool to hear. The link for that is: http://www.wpxi.com/news/24451492/detail.html

Perhaps the most exciting news was that my backpack arrived today. It made it all the way from L.A. to Pittsburgh in about 4 days via ground transportation. That’s pretty phenomenal if you ask me. So a big thank you to UPS and their truck drivers. But an even bigger thank you goes to Stephen Moyer for donating it to me for the walk. It’s perfect.  I can’t wait to get it loaded up start walking. Now that’s here I can see how much stuff I will be able to bring and start figuring what I’m going to bring along with me.

The last thing I want to mention is that I’m really excited about the number of people that are going to be at Jubilee Sunday morning to start the walk with me. So far it seems like it’s going to be around 15-20 people, including Councilman Doug Shields, which I think is really cool.

Well now that I have the backpack I better start putting stuff in it. Thanks you for all your support. T minus one day and counting.

Adam

About adambrok

My name is Adam Brok. I am a recent graduate of DePauw University, a small liberal arts school in Greencastle, IN, where I was a Philosophy major and Jewish Studies minor. I am also a proud Pittsburgher. I come from a family and environment where helping people in need was just what you did. If you came across a friend, neighbor, or even a complete stranger that was in need of help, you stopped and did what you could to help. It was just as simple as that. As I grew and moved on to college I continued to help where I could. I volunteered as a student friend at a local elementary school where I served as a mentor and tutor to a kindergartner named Jordan and worked with a local church to help run their non-food pantry (where we supplied members of the community on food stamps with essentials like soap, toothpaste, detergent, etc, that cannot be purchased with food stamps). During the summers after my sophomore and junior years respectfully, I volunteered at the University of Pittsburgh Legal Clinic and The Pittsburgh Refugee and Immigration Assistance Center. I also was fortunate to have had the opportunity to spend the spring semester of my junior year in Philadelphia where I was a social work/legal intern in the Juvenile Special Defense Unit of the Defender Association of Philadelphia. It was during this semester in Philadelphia that I became really passionate about the issues of hunger and homelessness. It was impossible to walk around downtown Philly for more than ten minutes without seeing someone laying on the sidewalk or sitting in dirty clothes on a park bench asking for food and money. It was a scene I just couldn't get comfortable with seeing. Here I was a young college student without much money of my own, yet I had an apartment I slept in each night and food to wake up to each morning. Why should I be so fortunate and not the guy that slept on the sewer grate every night down the block from my bare, but warm apartment. That is when I decided that I needed to something, something much more and much greater than what I had done in the past. Being an avid exerciser and enjoying taking on physical challenges, I decided that I would walk from Pittsburgh to Philadelphia to raise money and awareness for the hungry and homeless.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

